You are here

Georgia's Firearm Permit Reciprocity

Thank you for visiting the Georgia Department of Public Safety website. Georgia reciprocates in recognizing firearms licenses with the following states:

Alabama, Alaska, Arkansas, Arizona, Colorado, Florida, Idaho, Indiana, Iowa, Kansas, Kentucky, Louisiana, Michigan, Mississippi, Missouri, Montana, New Hampshire, North Carolina, North Dakota, Ohio, Oklahoma, Pennsylvania, South Dakota, Tennessee, Texas, Utah, West Virginia, Wisconsin, and Wyoming.

For additional information about Georgia's firearms laws, Georgia Code 16-11-(120 thru 134), please click the following link

The following link is to the media advisory from the Attorney General's Office announcing the latest updates to Georgia's Firearm Permit Reciprocity:,2094,87670814_179770607,00.html.

A non-resident of Georgia to whom has been issued a firearm license by a state listed above may carry a firearm while in Georgia in accordance with Georgia law.  A person who is not among those enumerated as ineligible for a firearm license under O.C.G.A. Section 16-11-129 is not forbidden from transporting a loaded firearm in any private passenger motor vehicle.