Georgia Department of Public Safety Policy Manual Exhibit

SUBJECT MANDATORY NOTIFICATION COUNTRIES AND JURISDICTIONS	POLICY NUMBER 17.12-1
#17.12 – SPECIFIC GROUPS AND OFFICIALS	REVISED DATE 6/4/2018
	POLICY REVIEWED 6/4/2018

Countries listed below have specific agreements with the United States Department of State regarding mandatory notification when their citizens are confined or detained.

Albania Malaysia
Algeria Malta
Antigua and Barbuda Mauritius
Armenia Moldova
Azerbaijan Mongolia
Bahamas, The Nigeria
Barbados Philippines

Belarus Poland (non-permanent residents only)

Belize Romania Brunei Russia

Bulgaria Saint Kitts and Nevis

China¹ Saint Lucia

Costa Rica Saint Vincent and the Grenadines

Cyprus Seychelles
Czech Republic Sierra Leone
Dominica Singapore
Fiji Slovakia
Gambia Tajikistan
Georgia Tanzania
Ghana Tonga

Grenada Trinidad and Tobago

Guyana Tunisia
Hong Kong² Turkmenistan
Hungary Tuvalu
Jamaica Ukraine

Kazakhstan United Kingdom³
Kiribati Uzbekistan
Kuwait Zambia
Kyrgyzstan Zimbabwe

¹ Notification is not mandatory in the case of persons who carry "Republic of China" passport issued by Taiwan. Such persons should be informed without delay that the nearest office of the Taipei Economic and Cultural Representative Office ("TECRO"), the unofficial entity representing Taiwan's interests in the United States, can be notified at their request.

² Hong Kong reverted to Chinese sovereignty on July 1, 1997, and is now officially referred to as the Hong Kong Special Administrative Region, or "SAR." Under paragraph 3(f)(2) of the March 25, 1997, U.S.-China Agreement on the Maintenance of the U.S. Consulate General in the Hong

Kong Special Administrative Region, U.S. officials are required to notify Chinese officials of the arrest or detention of the bearers of Hong Kong passports in the same manner as is required for bearers of Chinese passports—*i.e.*, immediately, and in any event within four days of the arrest or detention.

³ British dependencies also covered by this agreement are Anguilla, British Virgin Islands, Bermuda, Montserrat, and the Turks and Caicos Islands. Their residents carry British passports.