BOARD OF PUBLIC SAFETY

July 11, 2024 Virtual and Call-In Meeting

BOARD MEMBERS PRESENT:

Mr. Willie Bolton

Mr. Stacey Cotton

Mr. Roy H. Fickling

Mr. Richard Hyde

Chief Leonard "Dee" Meadows

Chief Janet L. Moon

Commissioner Michael Nail

Sheriff Joey Terrell

Ms. Susan K. Treadaway

Chief Craig Tully

Mr. Ellison G. Wood

BOARD MEMBERS ABSENT:

Sheriff Jimmy McDuffie

Mr. Billy New

Commissioner Tyrone Oliver

Mr. Charles D. Sikes

OTHERS:

Ms. Tina Piper, Attorney General's Office

Mrs. Jennifer Pendarvis, Board Liaison

Commissioner Billy Hitchens, Department of Public Safety

Lt. Colonel Kendrick Lowe, Department of Public Safety

Major Doug Wilson, Department of Public Safety/GSP

Captain Jonathan Huff, Department of Public Safety/MCCD

SFC Billy Schwab, Department of Public Safety/GSP

Director Chris Hosey, Georgia Bureau of Investigation

Deputy Director Rhonda Westbrook, Georgia Bureau of Investigation/GCIC

Deputy Director Cleveland Miles, Georgia Bureau of Investigation/Crime Lab

Mr. Jacob Harmon, Georgia Bureau of Investigation

Director Chris Wigginton, Georgia Public Safety Training Center

Deputy Director Cheryl Greathouse, Georgia Public Safety Training Center

Mr. Ray Ham, Georgia Public Safety Training Center

Ms. Lorri Smith, Georgia Department of Public Safety

Ms. Joan Crumpler, Georgia Department of Public Safety

Ms. Cindy Jones, Georgia Public Safety Training Center

Ms. Sharla Shockley, Georgia Public Safety Training Center

Ms. Sara Letson, Office of Planning and Budget

Ms. Crystal Munoz, Office of Planning and Budget

Ms. Megan Nolan, Office of Planning and Budget

Mr. Rahsaan Thompson, Office of Planning and Budget

Vice-Chairman Ellis Wood called the July 11, 2024 Board of Public Safety meeting to order.

Vice-Chairman Wood gave the Invocation and led the group in the Pledge of Allegiance.

Minutes of Board of Public Safety July 11, 2024 Page 2

Vice-Chairman Wood called for approval of the June 13, 2024 BPS minutes. Sheriff Joey Terrell made the motion to approve the June 13, 2024 minutes. This was seconded by Mr. Willie Bolton and voted approved by the Board members.

DONATIONS

Ms. Lorri Smith, Georgia Department of Public Safety, requested approval of the following donation:

Attendance at the 105th American Legion \$3,600.00 The American Legion Department of Georgia

The motion to accept this item was made by Sheriff Joey Terrell, which was seconded by Mr. Willie Bolton and voted approved by the Board members.

Ms. Cindy Jones, Georgia Public Safety Training Center, requested approval of the following donation:

Four (4) Training Burn Cells \$16,000.00 Paul Davis Restoration

The motion to accept these items was made by Chief Craig Tully, which was seconded by Mr. Richard Hyde and voted approved by the Board members.

DIRECTOR REPORTS

Commissioner Billy Hitchens, Georgia Department of Public Safety, reported DPS sent about 450 personnel to the Atlanta Metro Area in reference to the Presidential Debate on June 27th. Commissioner Hitchens advised DNR and DOC helped with those numbers and there were some protests, but with the overwhelming presence from APD, GSP, and Motor Carrier everything was peaceful and there were no issues.

Director Chris Hosey, Georgia Bureau of Investigation, reported different operations are going on across the state and they are very active, especially GISAC, and the Bureau's undercover resources and tactical resources.

Director Hosey shared the Crime Lab was successful in transitioning to a new case management system, which will make their work more efficient.

Director Chris Wigginton, Georgia Public Safety Training Center, introduced Mr. Ray Ham, reporting he will be running the Police Academy Division. Director Wigginton explained Mr. Ham came from DJJ and stated he has been involved in gang training and SRO training around the state.

Director Wigginton reported the Training Center is working diligently on the basic mandate expansion with an anticipated kickoff on January 1, 2025.

Minutes of Board of Public Safety July 11, 2024 Page 3	
There being no further business, the meeting was adjourned.	
	Craig Tully Secretary