

GEORGIA DEPARTMENT OF PUBLIC SAFETY

MAXIMUM RATE TARIFF NO. 3

INTRASTATE RATES AND CHARGES for <u>HOUSEHOLD GOODS</u>

Published Date:02/10/2022Effective Date:04/14/2022

Issued by

Georgia Department of Public Safety 959 United Avenue SE Atlanta, GA 30316 (404) 624-7241

householdgoods@gsp.net

I. Scope and Applicability

A. Authority for Adoption

This tariff is adopted and made effective pursuant to the Georgia Department of Public Safety's ("the Department's") authority pursuant to O.C.G.A. § 40-1-118 and 119 and in accordance with Department Rule 570-38-3-.06.

B. Applicability of Tariff

This tariff shall apply to all motor carriers of household goods as those terms are defined within Part 2 of Article 3 of Title 40 of the Official Code of Georgia Annotated whenever such motor carriers are operating in intrastate commerce (i.e. traffic having origin, destination, and entire transportation within the State of Georgia) and within the regulatory authority of the Department.

C. Maximum and Exclusive Rates

This tariff establishes maximum rates for applicable motor carriers. Such carriers are authorized to charge rates lower than those prescribed herein, but may not charge rates that exceed those prescribed herein, nor may such carrier charge customers for any transportation or services rendered in connection with such transportation other than those prescribed herein.

D. Cancellation of Existing Tariffs

This tariff cancels and replaces all tariffs presently published and/or on file with the Georgia Department of Public Safety pertaining to the maximum rates of household goods motor carriers in intrastate transportation, including but not limited to Georgia Department of Public Safety Maximum Rate Tariff No. 1 (effective March 10, 2018) and the Department's Maximum Rate Tariff for Carriers of Household Goods in Intrastate Transportation Version 2.0 (effective December 12, 2019).

E. Carrier Providing Only Ancillary / Non-Transportation Services

A carrier that is providing only ancillary services to a customer and is not providing transportation of household goods but is still governed by this tariff shall be authorized to charge its customers either (1) an hourly rate that does not exceed the applicable rate provided in subsection III.B of this tariff or (2) the applicable charges and/or rates not to exceed those provided in subsection IV.D of this tariff.

II. **Definitions**

Unless otherwise defined herein, all words used in this tariff shall have meanings provided in O.C.G.A. § 40-1-1 and 40-1-100. To the extent a conflict between these definitions exist, the definitions provided by O.C.G.A. § 40-1-100 shall prevail except to the extent otherwise required by law.

III. Hourly Rates for Transportation

A. Application of Rate

- 1. The hourly rates contained in this section shall apply to the transportation of household goods over a distance of 50 miles or less as measured in accordance with the Department of Public Safety rules pertaining to the application of this tariff, including particularly Rule 570-38-3-.07.
- 2. Hourly charges will be computed by applying the proper hourly rate contained in Section III.B. to the actual number of hours required to accomplish the transportation and associated services.

Regular Hours*		Overtime Hours*			
Vehicle & 2 People	\$175.00	Vehicle & 2 People	\$219.00		
Vehicle & 3 People	\$226.00	Vehicle & 3 People	\$289.00		
Vehicle & 4 People	\$277.00	Vehicle & 4 People	\$360.00		
Vehicle & 5 People	\$328.00	Vehicle & 5 People	\$432.00		
Each Additional Person	\$51.00	Each Additional Person	\$70.00		
Additional Vehicle & Person	\$124.00	Additional Vehicle & Person	\$149.00		

B. Maximum Hourly Rates

* As defined in Rule 570-38-3-.07(9), "regular hours shall begin at 8:00 A.M. and end at 5:00 P.M. every day except all Saturdays and Sundays and the holidays of New Years Day, Independence Day, Labor Day, Thanksgiving Day, and Christmas Day. In the event a listed holiday falls on a Saturday, the prior Friday shall be considered the holiday. In the event a listed holiday falls on a Sunday, the following Monday shall be considered the holiday." A carrier may agree to provide services or transportation outside of regular hours at the appropriate rates in accordance with the Department's maximum rate tariff.

IV. Rates for Transportation Based upon Weight of Goods and Distance Travelled

A. Application of Rate

1. The maximum weight and distance rates contained in this section shall apply to the transportation of household goods over a distance of more than 50

miles as measured in accordance with the Department of Public Safety rules pertaining to the application of this tariff, including particularly Rule 570-38-3-.07.

- 2. Except as otherwise provided herein, the rates provided in Section IV.B of this tariff are stated in dollars and cents per 100 pounds and total charges shall be computed by multiplying the actual or constructive weight of the goods to be transported by the applicable rate per 100 pounds, except as provided in Section IV.A.3 below.
- 3. Where charges based upon the actual or constructive weight of the household goods at the applicable rate would exceed the charge based upon the next highest applicable rate at the minimum weight which would make the next rate applicable, the household goods carrier shall charge the customer for transportation at the next highest rate using the minimum applicable weight for that rate. For carrier convenience, the weights at which a lower charge would result by use of the minimum weight at the next highest applicable rate are shown under the column "Break Point" for each applicable rate.

Miles	1,000 lbs to 1,999 lbs	Break Point	2,000 lbs to 3,999 lbs	Break Point	4,000 lbs to 7,9999 lbs	Break Point	8,000 lbs to 11,999 lbs	Break Point	12,000 lbs to 15,999 lbs	Break Point	16,000 lbs & Over
51-60	\$59.00	1,630	\$48.00	3,455	\$42.00	6,316	\$33.00	11,200	\$31.00	14,286	\$28.00
61-70	\$63.00	1,579	\$50.00	3,467	\$43.00	6,359	\$34.00	11,226	\$32.00	14,345	\$29.00
71-80	\$66.00	1,567	\$52.00	3,405	\$44.00	6,600	\$36.00	10,910	\$33.00	14,934	\$31.00
81-90	\$67.00	1,574	\$53.00	3,417	\$45.00	6,635	\$37.00	10,942	\$34.00	14,968	\$32.00
91-100	\$69.00	1,556	\$54.00	3,429	\$46.00	6,667	\$39.00	10,629	\$34.00	14,968	\$32.00
101-110	\$72.00	1,570	\$56.00	3,295	\$46.00	6,858	\$40.00	10,667	\$35.00	15,000	\$33.00
111-120	\$75.00	1,500	\$56.00	3,373	\$47.00	6,884	\$41.00	10,703	\$36.00	15,031	\$34.00
121-130	\$77.00	1,543	\$59.00	3,334	\$50.00	6,578	\$41.00	10,703	\$36.00	15,031	\$34.00
131-140	\$78.00	1,550	\$61.00	3,273	\$50.00	6,756	\$42.00	10,737	\$37.00	15,059	\$35.00
141-150	\$81.00	1,514	\$62.00	3,286	\$51.00	6,783	\$43.00	10,770	\$39.00	15,086	\$36.00
151-160	\$83.00	1,520	\$63.00	3,299	\$52.00	6,809	\$44.00	10,800	\$40.00	14,667	\$36.00
161-170	\$85.00	1,559	\$66.00	3,200	\$53.00	6,834	\$45.00	10,830	\$41.00	15,136	\$39.00
171-180	\$87.00	1,519	\$66.00	3,267	\$54.00	6,858	\$46.00	10,858	\$42.00	14,737	\$39.00
181-190	\$89.00	1,507	\$67.00	3,279	\$55.00	6,880	\$47.00	10,605	\$42.00	15,579	\$41.00
191-200	\$91.00	1,494	\$68.00	3,291	\$56.00	6,902	\$48.00	10,637	\$43.00	15,590	\$42.00

B. Maximum Weight and Distance Transportation Rates

Miles	1,000 lbs to 1,999 lbs	Break Point	2,000 lbs to 3,999 lbs	Break Point	4,000 lbs to 7,9999 lbs	Break Point	8,000 lbs to 11,999 lbs	Break Point	12,000 lbs to 15,999 lbs	Break Point	16,000 lbs & Over
201-220	\$92.00	1,500	\$69.00	3,302	\$57.00	6,924	\$50.00	10,934	\$45.00	15,220	\$43.00
221-240	\$95.00	1,512	\$72.00	3,262	\$58.00	7,095	\$52.00	10,724	\$46.00	15,239	\$44.00
241-260	\$98.00	1,484	\$73.00	3,273	\$59.00	6,963	\$52.00	11,235	\$48.00	14,910	\$45.00
261-280	\$100.00	1,495	\$75.00	3,236	\$61.00	7,128	\$54.00	11,021	\$50.00	15,289	\$47.00
281-300	\$101.00	1,522	\$77.00	3,258	\$63.00	6,878	\$54.00	11,511	\$52.00	15,320	\$50.00
301-320	\$105.00	1,495	\$78.00	3,381	\$66.00	6,934	\$57.00	11,308	\$54.00	15,347	\$52.00
321-340	\$108.00	1,511	\$81.00	3,244	\$66.00	7,067	\$58.00	11,321	\$55.00	15,680	\$54.00
341-360	\$109.00	1,516	\$83.00	3,307	\$68.00	6,968	\$59.00	11,556	\$57.00	15,077	\$54.00
361-380	\$112.00	1,510	\$85.00	3,273	\$69.00	6,985	\$61.00	11,564	\$58.00	15,397	\$56.00
381-400	\$113.00	1,515	\$86.00	3,334	\$72.00	7,016	\$63.00	11,369	\$59.00	15,704	\$58.00
401-420	\$117.00	1,491	\$87.00	3,292	\$72.00	7,385	\$66.00	11,400	\$63.00	15,158	\$59.00
421-440	\$119.00	1,482	\$88.00	3,300	\$73.00	7,394	\$67.00	11,410	\$64.00	15,173	\$61.00
441-460	\$121.00	1,491	\$90.00	3,318	\$75.00	7,177	\$67.00	11,804	\$66.00	15,200	\$63.00
461-480	\$123.00	1,483	\$91.00	3,326	\$76.00	7,305	\$69.00	11,620	\$67.00	15,738	\$66.00
481-500	\$124.00	1,487	\$92.00	3,381	\$78.00	7,324	\$72.00	11,447	\$68.00	15,742	\$67.00

Maximum Weight and Distance Transportation Rates- continued

C. Fuel Surcharge

A carrier providing transportation services to a customer in accordance with this section of the maximum rate tariff is authorized to charge a customer for fuel in accordance with the Department's rules and at a rate not to exceed:

\$1.30 per mile per vehicle while transporting customer goods.

D. Ancillary Services

1. Application of Rates

- a. A carrier governed by the maximum weight and distance transportation rates in subsection IV.B of this tariff is authorized to charge customers for any ancillary services in accordance with the rates contained in this subsection. A carrier governed by this subsection shall not charge a customer or utilize rates for any ancillary services that exceed those provided herein.
- b. Under no circumstances shall a carrier be authorized to charge a customer utilizing an hourly rate for any services that the carrier charges a customer utilizing the rates listed below.

2. Maximum Charges for Provided Packaging / Shipping Containers

- a. A carrier may provide packaging materials and shipping containers to its customers in accordance with the Rules of the Department of Public Safety and subject to the maximum prices set forth in column B of the chart in paragraph 5 of this subsection.
- b. Such packaging materials and shipping containers shall remain the property of the customer.

3. Maximum Charges for Packing Services

a. A carrier may provide services comprised of packing or preparation of household goods for shipment in accordance with the Rules of the Department of Public Safety and subject to the maximum prices set forth in columns C (for services performed during regular hours) and D (for services performed outside of regular hours) of the chart in paragraph 5 of this subsection.

- b. A carrier shall not charge a customer for packing or preparation services to the extent such services are required by law or the Rules of the Department of Public Safety to be offered at no additional charge or as a part of its normal obligations to its customers.
- c. The charges for packing or preparation services are in addition to any charges the carrier is entitled to impose for provided packaging and/or shipping containers in accordance with paragraph 5 of this subsection.

4. Maximum Charges for Unpacking Services

- a. A carrier may provide services comprised of unpacking of household goods of its customers for shipment in accordance with the Rules of the Department of Public Safety and subject to the maximum prices set forth in columns E (for services performed during regular hours) and F (for services performed outside of regular hours) of the chart in paragraph 5 of this subsection.
- b. A carrier shall not charge a customer for unpacking services to the extent such services are required to be offered at no additional charge or as a part of its normal obligations to its customers by law or the Rules of the Department of Public Safety.
- c. The charges for unpacking are in addition to any charges the carrier is entitled to impose for provided packaging and/or shipping containers in accordance with paragraph 2 of this subsection.
- d. Notwithstanding the other provisions of this tariff, if a customer orders unpacking services to be performed independent of any other services or at a time distinct from delivery of the goods to be unpacked, the carrier shall be entitled to apply a minimum charge for such services of \$54.00.

5. Maximum Charges for Provided Packaging / Shipping Containers, Packing Services, and Unpacking Services

COLUMN B	COLUMN C	COLUMN D	COLUMN E	COLUMN F
Charge for	Packing	Packing	Unpacking	Unpacking
Container	Services -	Services -	Services -	Services -
	Regular Hours	Overtime Hours	Regular Hours	Overtime Hours
\$6.58	\$6.58	\$8.23	\$1.70	\$3.29
\$9.80	\$11.52	\$14.74	\$3.29	\$6.58
\$11.52	\$13.09	\$16.38	\$4.94	\$8.23
\$13.09	\$16.38	\$19.67	\$4.94	\$8.23
\$14.74	\$18.03	\$22.90	\$6.58	\$11.52
\$24.61	\$6.58	\$8.23	\$1.70	\$3.29
\$32.77	\$29.48	\$35.99	\$9.80	\$16.38
	Charge for Container \$6.58 \$9.80 \$11.52 \$13.09 \$14.74 \$24.61	Charge for Container Packing Services - Regular Hours \$6.58 \$6.58 \$9.80 \$11.52 \$11.52 \$13.09 \$13.09 \$16.38 \$14.74 \$18.03 \$24.61 \$6.58	Charge for Container Packing Services - Regular Hours Packing Services - Overtime Hours \$6.58 \$6.58 \$8.23 \$9.80 \$11.52 \$14.74 \$11.52 \$13.09 \$16.38 \$13.09 \$16.38 \$19.67 \$14.74 \$18.03 \$22.90 \$24.61 \$6.58 \$8.23	Charge for Container Packing Services - Regular Hours Packing Services - Overtime Hours Unpacking Services - Regular Hours \$6.58 \$6.58 \$8.23 \$1.70 \$9.80 \$11.52 \$14.74 \$3.29 \$11.52 \$13.09 \$16.38 \$4.94 \$13.09 \$16.38 \$19.67 \$4.94 \$14.74 \$18.03 \$22.90 \$6.58 \$24.61 \$6.58 \$8.23 \$1.70

6. Maximum Charges for Waiting Time

- a. Waiting time may be charged by a carrier in accordance with Rule 570-38-3-.07(11).
- b. The maximum rate for waiting time shall be the maximum hourly rates established by subsection III.B of this tariff.

7. Multiple Pickup or Delivery Locations

A carrier that picks up or loads portions of a customer's shipment at multiple locations or that delivers or unloads a customer's shipment to multiple locations at the customer's request and in accordance with the Department's Rules is authorized to charge the customer a service charge in addition to any other charges or rates authorized by this tariff in an amount not to exceed:

\$81.85 per additional stop (excluding the first pick-up / loading location and first delivery / unloading location.)

8. Overtime Loading and Unloading

a. A carrier that is authorized to pick up / load or deliver / unload all or part of a customer's shipment during non-regular / overtime hours in accordance with the Department's Rules is authorized to charge the customer a service charge

in addition to any other charges or rates authorized by this tariff in an amount

not to exceed:

\$3.54 per 100 pounds picked up / loaded

and

\$3.54 per 100 pounds delivered / unloaded

- b. Carriers subject to this provision are authorized to utilize the actual or constructive weight of the shipment as determined by Department Rules to calculate the charge based upon the rate provided in subparagraph (a) of this paragraph.
- c. Carriers are authorized to utilize a minimum constructive weight of 1,000 pounds in calculating charges based upon the rate provided in subparagraph (a) of this paragraph.
- d. A carrier shall not be entitled to charge a customer in accordance with this paragraph when the service is performed for the convenience of the carrier.

9. **Reweighing Charges**

The maximum reweighing charge a carrier is authorized to charge in accordance

with the Department's rules is:

\$73.69

10. Bulky Articles

- a. Except as otherwise provided in this paragraph, a customer whose shipment includes any of the articles listed in Section (c) of this paragraph is subject to additional charges for each pick up / loading and /or delivery / unloading a carrier performs of the article in question, except to the extent any such service is performed for the convenience of or due to the fault of the carrier.
- b. A carrier who is utilizing a constructive shipment weight based upon a request or order from a customer for exclusive use of a vehicle in accordance with the Department's Rules shall not be authorized to charge a customer in

accordance with this paragraph.

c. The charge(s) provided in Section (a) of this paragraph shall be in addition to any other charges or rates authorized by this tariff and shall not exceed the amounts listed below:

Column A	Column B		
Description of Article	Maximum Rate		
Automobile (GVWR of 6,000 pounds or less)	\$147.00		
Automobile (GVWR of more than 6,000 pounds)	\$147.00 + \$2.45 per 100 lbs (or portion thereof) over 6,000 lbs		
Boat* (overall length less than 14 feet)	\$114.00		
Boat* (overall length between 14 and 20 feet)	\$147.00		
Boat* (overall length in excess of 20 feet)	\$221.00		
Motorcycle (engine displacement of 250 cc or more)	\$114.00		
Tractors / Riding Mowers (less than 25 horsepower)	\$98.00		
Tractors / Riding Mowers (25 horsepower or more)	\$140.00		
Utility Trailers (non-enclosed)	\$74.00		
Box / Enclosed Trailers	\$106.00		
Playhouses, Tool Sheds, Utility Sheds, Hot Tubs, Spas, Whirlpool Baths, Jacuzzis (transported set-up, not dismantled) with displacement of more than 100 ft ³	\$172.00		

* The term "boat" does not include canoes, kayaks, sculls, or skiffs. Such craft shall not be subject to charges under this paragraph. A boat mounted on a trailer shall be considered two articles (both a boat and a trailer) for the purposes of this paragraph, and a separate charge can be applied to each article.

11. Extra Labor Charges

- a. A carrier providing services to a customer at the customer's request which are not otherwise provided for by this section of the Department's maximum rate tariff is entitled to charge such customer for labor at rates not to exceed those provided in this paragraph.
- b. A carrier shall not charge a customer in accordance with this paragraph for any services for which the carrier has charged the customer under any other provision of this tariff.

c. The maximum rates for services provided under this paragraph are:

\$42.57 per hour per person for services performed during regular hours

\$60.60 per hour per person for services performed during overtime hours Valuation

A. Option 1 - Released Value Protection - This option provides reimbursement for loss and damage at a rate of \$0.60 per pound per household goods article based <u>solely</u> upon the weight of the lost or damaged article(s). Per DPS rule 570-38-3-.10(3), carriers shall not impose a charge for this option.

B. Options 2(a) and 2(b) - Full Value Protection maximum rates are:
Option 2(a) - \$14.30 per \$1,000 of declared value of goods with no deductible
Option 2(b) - \$4.70 per \$1,000 of declared value of goods with a \$300.00 deductible

C. A carrier providing services to a customer that has selected full value protection of his or her goods in accordance with the Department's rules shall be entitled to charge the customer for such protection at rates to exceed those provided in this paragraph. For the purposes of calculating charges in accordance with this section, a carrier is authorized to require a minimum declared value per room of \$5,000.00 excluding halls, attics, garages, closets, and bathrooms. For the purposes of this subsection, a self-storage unit of up to 10 ft² shall constitute a single room, and every additional 10 ft² of self-storage space or portion thereof shall constitute an additional room.

Carriers must strictly comply with all provision of DPS Rule 570-38-3-.10 re: Valuation of Household Goods.

VI. Storage in Transit

V.

- A. A carrier that is storing goods in transit in accordance with the Department's rules shall be entitled to charge the customer whose goods are being stored for such storage at rates not to exceed those provided in this section.
- B. A carrier is not entitled to charge a customer for storage under this section during any time the customer is being charged for storage by another entity or being charged by the carrier in accordance with any other provision of this tariff.
- C. The maximum rates for services provided under this paragraph are:

\$6.20 per 100 pounds of stored goods for the first day of storage

\$0.19 per 100 pounds of stored goods per day after the first day of storage

D. A carrier authorized to charge a customer in accordance with this section shall also be entitled to charge a customer no more than 10% of the total charges under this section for valuation of the stored goods if and only if the customer selected full value protection as a valuation method for the goods in question.