Georgia State Patrol

Policy Manual Exhibit

EXHIBIT MANDATORY NOTIFICATION COUNTRIES AND JURISDICTIONS	EXHIBIT NUMBER 17.12-1
REFERENCE	DATE
#17.12 – SPECIFIC GROUPS AND OFFICIALS	9/6/2002

Countries listed below have specific agreements with the United States Department of State regarding notification when their citizens are confined or detained.

¹ Notification is not mandatory in the case of persons who carry "Republic of China" passport issued by Taiwan. Such persons should be informed without delay that the nearest office of the Taipei Economic and Cultural Representative Office ("TECRO"), the unofficial entity representing Taiwan's interests in the United States, can be notified at their request.

² Hong Kong reverted to Chinese sovereignty on July 1, 1997, and is now officially referred to as the Hong Kong Special Administrative Region, or "SAR." Under paragraph 3(f)(2) of the March 25, 1997, U.S.-China Agreement on the Maintenance of the U.S. Consulate General in the Hong Kong Special Administrative Region, U.S. officials are required to notify Chinese officials of the

arrest or detention of the bearers of Hong Kong passports in the same manner as is required for bearers of Chinese passports—*i.e.*, immediately, and in any event within four days of the arrest or detention.

³ British dependencies also covered by this agreement are Anguilla, British Virgin Islands, Bermuda, Montserrat, and the Turks and Caicos Islands. Their residents carry British passports.

⁴ Although the U.S.S.R. no longer exists, some nationals of its successor states may still be traveling on its passports. Mandatory notification should be given to consular officers for all nationals of such states, including those traveling on old U.S.S.R. passports. The successor states are listed separately above.