BOARD OF PUBLIC SAFETY CALL IN MEETING

July 21, 2017 Department of Public Safety Blue Room Atlanta, Georgia

BOARD MEMBERS PRESENT:

Mr. Wayne Abernathy-via conference call Mr. Steve D. Cronic-via conference call Commissioner Greg Dozier Sheriff Dane Kirby-via conference call Chief Mark Revenew-via conference call Mr. Charles D. Sikes-via conference call Mr. Peter J. Skandalakis-via conference call Sheriff Joey Terrell-via conference call Chief Craig Tully-via conference call Mr. Ellison G. Wood

BOARD MEMBERS ABSENT:

Mr. Danny M. Bryant Mr. Kacy K. Cronan Mr. Lester L. Rampy, Jr.

OTHERS:

Ms. Tina Piper, Senior Assistant Attorney General
Ms. Cheryl L. Buie, Board Liaison
Colonel Mark W. McDonough, Department of Public Safety
Lt. Colonel Russell D. Powell, Department of Public Safety
Major Hank Fielding, Department of Public Safety/GSP
Major Jason Johnson, Department of Public Safety/GSP
Major Billy Boulware, Department of Public Safety/MCCD
Captain Jeremy Vickery, Department of Public Safety
Ms. Kela Ward, Department of Public Safety Training Center-via conference call
Mr. Tony Hightower, Deputy Director, Georgia Public Safety Training Center-via conference call
Ms. Cindy Franklin, Georgia Public Safety Training Center-via conference call
Mrs. Sharla Shockley, Georgia Public Safety Training Center-via conference call

Vice-Chairman Ellis Wood called the July 21st, 2017 Board of Public Safety meeting to order, opening with a prayer.

DIRECTOR REPORTS

Director Vernon Kennan, Georgia Bureau of Investigation announced that Dr. George Herrin, Crime Lab Director will be retiring September 1, 2017, and will be replaced by Ms. Kathy Lee, who is currently the Deputy Director of the Crime Lab.

DONATIONS

Major Jason Johnson, Chief Financial Officer, Department of Public Safety requested approval of the following donations:

One Stalker DSR 2X Radar	\$ 3,061.00	Evans Co. Board of Commissioners
Two Kustom Signals ProLaser 4 Hand Held Lidars	\$ 4,918.00	Paulding Co. Sheriff's Dept.
One Kustom Signals Pro Laser IV	\$ 2,500.00	Franklin Police Department
Monetary Donation for two troopers to Attend the 118 th VFW Convention	\$ 2,000.00	Georgia Veterans of Foreign Wars

The motion to accept these donations was made by Sheriff Joey Terrell, which was seconded by Chief Mark Revenew, and voted approved by the Board members.

Director Chris Wigginton, Georgia Public Safety Training Center reminded the group of the GPSTC 30th Anniversary celebration, being held tomorrow.

Ms. Cindy Franklin, Comptroller, Georgia Public Safety Training Center requested approval of the following donations:

160 Embroidered Propper Shirts	\$ 5,278.40	Dana Safety Supply
Bulk Hamburger and Hotdog Buns	\$ 350.00	Flowers Baking CoVilla Rica
Monetary Donation	\$ 250.00	Ten-8 Fire Equipment, Inc.
Beverages-assorted Coke products	\$ 3,152.00	Coca-Cola Bottling CoMacon
Monetary Donation	\$ 1,000.00	Justice Federal Credit Union

The motion to accept these donations was made by Chief Mark Revenew, which was seconded by Mr. Wayne Abernathy, and voted approved by the Board members.

Old/New Business

Ms. Joan Crumpler, Legal Services, Department of Public Safety presented a Resolution asking the BPS to authorize the Georgia Department of Public Safety to transfer a Revocable License of .253 acres of unimproved land to the Georgia Department of Transportation for right of way to effect a bridge replacement project in Hall County.

Commissioner Greg Dozier made the motion for the members of the Board of Public Safety authorize the Commissioner of Public Safety to request the Georgia Governor and/or Georgia Legislature to issue a Revocable License for such .253 acres in the custody and control of DPS to GDOT for purposes of a bridge replacement project at SR11 and Lake Lanier in Hall County, Georgia. This was seconded by Mr. Steve Cronic and voted approved by the BPS members.

Ms. Tina Piper invited everyone to Mr. Joe Drolet's retirement celebration being held Friday, July 28th, 2017.

Mr. Charles Sikes made a motion to prepare and present Mr. Joe Drolet with a Resolution. This was seconded by Sheriff Joey Terrell and voted approved by the BPS members.

There being no further business, the meeting was adjourned.

Chief Mark Revenew Secretary