BOARD OF PUBLIC SAFETY

August 22, 2018 Georgia Department of Public Safety Atlanta, Georgia

BOARD MEMBERS PRESENT:

Mr. Wayne Abernathy-via conference call
Mr. Steve D. Cronic-via conference call
Commissioner Gregory Dozier-via conference call
District Attorney George Hartwig-via conference call
Director Sam Heaton-via conference call
Commissioner Michael Nail-via conference call
Chief Mark Revenew-via conference call
Mr. Charles D. Sikes-via conference call
Sheriff Joey Terrell-via conference call
Chief Craig Tully-via conference call
Mr. Ellison G. Wood-via conference call

BOARD MEMBERS ABSENT:

Mr. Danny Bryant Mr. Kacy K. Cronan Sheriff Dane Kirby Mr. Lester L. Rampy, Jr.

OTHERS:

Ms. Tina Piper, Senior Assistant Attorney General

Ms. Cheryl L. Buie, Board Liaison-via conference call

Commissioner Mark W. McDonough, Department of Public Safety-via conference call

Lt. Colonel Russell Powell, Department of Public Safety-via conference call

Major Johnny Jones, Department of Public Safety/MCCD-via conference call

Major Billy Boulware, Department of Public Safety/MCCD-via conference call

Mrs. Melissa Rodgers, Department of Public Safety

Mr. Doug Mangum, Department of Public Safety

Miss Kaycee Larson, Department of Public Safety

Assistant Director Dan Kirk, Georgia Bureau of Investigation-via conference call

Mr. Terry Sears, Georgia Bureau of Investigation-via conference call

Mr. Bill T. Akers, Georgia Bureau of Investigation-via conference call

Director Chris Wigginton, Georgia Public Safety Training Center-via conference call

Mrs. Cindy Jones, Comptroller, Georgia Public Safety Training Center-via conference call

Ms. Ashley Larrow, Office of Planning and Budget

Mrs. Olivia Duke, Office of Planning and Budget

Vice-Chairman Ellis Wood called the August 22, 2018, Board of Public Safety meeting to order.

Mr. Dan Kirk led the group in prayer.

Vice-Chairman Wood thanked Ms. Tina Piper, the Board of Public Safety Attorney, for her willingness to help, her flexibility with her schedule, her wisdom and thanked her for all she has been doing to help the Board of Public Safety.

Vice-Chairman Wood called for approval of the July 2018 minutes. Commissioner Greg Dozier made the motion to approve the minutes, which was seconded by Mr. Steve Cronic, and voted approved by the BPS members.

Mr. Dan Kirk, Assistant Director, Georgia Bureau of Investigation presented a Resolution requesting the Board of Public Safety to approve the acquisition of approximately 0.5 acres of real property from the City of Pooler, a political subdivision of the State of Georgia. Mr. Kirk advised the property would be utilized for building a bomb garage.

Mr. Wayne Abernathy made the motion for the Board of Public Safety to request the State of Properties Commission to proceed with the acquisition of the approximately 0.5 acres of real property to the State of Georgia in custody of the Georgia Bureau of Investigation from the City of Pooler, by deed in fee simple. This was seconded by Sheriff Joey Terrell and voted approved by the Board of Public Safety members.

DONATIONS

Mr. Doug Mangum, Budget Director, Department of Public Safety requested approval of the following donations:

One Stalker DSR 2X Radar with Instant on Remote	\$ 3,078.50	Stewart Co. Bd. of Commissioners Randolph Co. Sheriff's Dept.
Seven Window Tint Meters Seven Streamlight Flashlights	\$ 1,120.00	Burke Co. Sheriff's Dept.

The motion to accept these donations was made by Mr. Charles Sikes, which was seconded by Chief Mark Revenew, and voted approved by the Board members.

Mr. Dan Kirk, Assistant Director, Georgia Bureau of Investigation requested approval of the following donation:

One DJI Inspire 2 Combo Apple \$ 5,500.00 Flint Judicial Circuit D. A. Pro Drone with Zenmuse X5S Camera System

The motion to accept this donation was made by Sheriff Joey Terrell, which was seconded by Director

Sam Heaton, and voted approved by the Board members.

Mrs. Cindy Jones, Comptroller, Georgia Public Safety Training Center requested approval of the following donations:

Railroad Tank Car	\$ 5,000.00	CSX Transportation, Inc.
Monetary to Arson Training Program	\$ 1,000.00	GA Fire Investigators Association

Minutes of Board of Public Safety August 22, 2018 Page 3

The motion to accept these donations was made by Chief Craig Tully, which was seconded by Mr. Steve Cronic, and voted approved by the Board members.

Commissioner Mark McDonough, Department of Public Safety shared MCCD Major Johnny Jones received the 2018 Merit Award by the Peace Officers Association of Georgia at their annual convention last night. Commissioner McDonough added Major Jones was honored for his efforts to enhance the public safety profession through his leadership and efforts to reduce traffic deaths in Georgia.

There being no further business, the meeting was adjourned.

Chief Mark Revenew Secretary