

- MYTH: Commercial vehicles are legal with 32 percent window tint.
- FACT: Commercial vehicles are allowed to have windows tinted, but not less than 70 percent.



COLORING OR TINTING OF WINDSHIELDS AND WINDOWS:

Coloring or tinting of windshields and the windows to the immediate right and left of the driver is allowed, provided the light transmission through the colored or tinted glazing is not less than 70 percent of the light at normal incidence in those portions of the windshield or windows (§393.60(d)).

CAN I PLACE DECALS AND STICKERS ON MY WINDSHIELD?

Commercial Vehicle Safety Alliance (CVSA) inspection decals, and stickers and/or decals required under Federal or State laws may be placed at the bottom or sides of the windshield provided such decals or stickers do not extend more than 4 ½ inches from the bottom of the windshield and are located outside the area swept by the windshield wipers, and outside the driver's sight lines to the road and highway signs or signals. (§393.60(e))



Safety Message from Project P.I.E. (Public Information and Education) FACT SHEET #19 Georgia Department of Public Safety Motor Carrier Compliance Division P.O. Box 1456 Atlanta, Georgia 30371-1456 (404) 624-7211 www.dps.georgia.gov