GSP TO BEGIN ISSUING TEXTING TICKETS

July 30, 2010

The 30-day grace period by the Georgia State Patrol comes to an end this weekend as Georgia State Troopers will begin issuing citations for texting while driving and motorists not buckled up in pickup trucks.  Troopers have been warning violators about the new laws during the month of July and will begin issuing citations August 1.

Georgia law now requires adults in pickup trucks to wear seat belts.  Georgia has had a primary seat belt law since 1996 but the law exempted adults in pickups until legislation was passed and signed into law earlier this year.

The new texting while driving law prohibits drivers from using a wireless telecommunications device while operating a motor vehicle on the public road or highway.  The fine for violation is set by statute at $150.00 and one point on the driver's record.  A law was also passed that makes it illegal for anyone under the age of 18 to text while driving or use a cellular telephone.  The fine for violation is also one point on the driver's record and a $150 fine.  The fine is doubled if the teenager was using a cell phone or texting at the time of a crash. 

Contact Information: 
DPS Public Information Office