(FORSYTH) – The Georgia Department of Public Safety Motor Carrier Compliance Division held graduation ceremonies for its 7th Motor Carrier Officer (MCO) School on Friday, February 4, at the Georgia Public Safety Training Center (GPSTC) in Forsyth. 
Governor Brian P. Kemp gave the graduation address and the oath of office.  Remarks were also given by Colonel Chris Wright, Commissioner of the Department of Public Safety (DPS) and Lt. Luke Montgomery, MCCD Training Coordinator.  
During remarks to his fellow class members, Officer Keldrique Lofton, class president, reflected on family and its extension beyond immediate family to his classmates and the training staff he walked with on the journey toward becoming an Officer.   He also expressed the importance of the friendships made that helped get each of them through the tough times.
“We arrived at the Georgia Public Safety Training Center on a warm Sunday in July and instantly knew we were in for quite a journey,” said Lofton. 
Four of the graduates received special honors for top performance in various proficiencies. The honorees were:

  • Driving Proficiency – Officer Brandon Coney  
  • Firearms Proficiency – Officer Marcus Sales
  • Top Gun – Officer Will Blackwell
  • Highest Academic Average – Officer Shane Prater

Officer Prater received a $1,000 scholarship towards a bachelor’s degree in Criminal Justice from Reinhardt University for having the highest academic average in his class.
Additionally, the following graduates were recognized for their leadership:
Officer Keldrique Lofton, President; Officer Shane Prater, Vice President; Officer Charles A. Willis, Secretary/Treasurer; Officer Will Blackwell, Pennant Bearer; and Officer Corlandreth Norwood, Sergeant-at-Arms.
After 24 weeks of intense training, the 12 commissioned officers of the 7th Motor Carrier School will report to one of the 10 Regions throughout the state.




Will Blackwell


Region E, Station 8

Brandon Coney


Region F, Station 14

Dustin Harrell


Region G, Station 19

Caleb Lewellen


Region A, Station 2

Keldrique Lofton


Region G, Station 19

Corlandreth Norwood


Region D, Station 11

Shane Prater


Region A, Station 1

Marcus Sales


Region C, Station 7

Terrell Truitt


Region C, Station 7

Charles Willis


Region E, Station 9

Brian Wine


Region D, Station 11

Brent Wilson


Region D, Station 11