Frequently Asked Questions
Georgia State Patrol Dispatcher
Q. Where will I be working?
A. There are nine Communication Centers located throughout the state. These are located in Atlanta, Cartersville, Gainesville, Newnan, Grovetown, Statesboro, Americus, Tifton, and Brunswick.
Troop C Communications, Headquarters Radio Room - 959 East Confederate Ave., Atlanta, GA 30316
- Troop A Communications - 130 State Rt.20 Spur, Cartersville, GA
- Troop B Communications - 2000 Cleveland Hwy, Gainesville, GA
- Troop D Communications - 517 Turkey Creek Road, Newnan, GA
- Troop E Communications - 2000 William Few Parkway, Grovetown, GA
- Troop F Communications - 10723 US 301 South, Statesboro, GA
- Troop G Communications - 113 William Bowen Pointe, Americus, GA
- Troop H Communications - 3101 US Hwy 41 South, Tifton, GA
- Troop I Communications - 160 Public Safety Blvd.,Brunswick, GA
Q. What is the hiring process?
A. The initial step in the hiring process is to complete a State Employment Application. Next, you must take and pass the Telecommunicator Examination. This is generally given the first and third Wednesday at 9:00 am by the Chief Communications Officer at each of the nine Communication Centers throughout the state. After passing the exam, a background packet will be forwarded to you for completion. Once this is completely filled out and all requested documents returned to Human Resources, a background investigator will be assigned to complete the background investigation. Upon recommendation of the background investigator, a date and time for a polygraph examination will be set. Finally, after completing all steps successfully, and a position becomes available, an interview of selected candidates will be conducted.
- Telecommunicator Examination
- Polygraph Examination
- Background Investigation
- Oral Interview
Q. Is there an age requirement to become a Dispatcher?
A. Yes. The age requirement is 18 years.
Q. Do you require any previous experience to become a Dispatcher?
A. No previous experience is required. However, good communications skills, computer skills and multitasking skills are essential to the job.
Q. Is the Georgia Work Ready Test still required?
A. The Georgia Work Ready Test is no longer required. However, there is a Telecommunicators Examination that is administered by the Georgia State Patrol that must be taken and passed prior to advancing further in the hiring process.
Q. What hours will I be working?
A. Georgia State Patrol Communications is a 24/7-365 days per year job. As with most law enforcement dispatch, we are open nights, weekends and holidays.
Q. What kind of tests will I be required to take?
A. Candidates for dispatcher are required to take the Telecommunicator Examination and obtain a passing score of 70 or better.
Q. When and where is the test administered?
A. The test is generally given the first and third Wednesday at 9:00 am by the Chief Communications Officer at each of the nine Communication Centers throughout the state.
Q. Is there any opportunity for advancement?
A. Yes, there are four levels of dispatcher. Level 1 is the basic level (Dispatcher 1). Level 2 is Dispatcher 2 (1 year as a Dispatcher 1) Level 3 is the Dispatcher 3 (Senior) the shift supervisor and Level 4 is Dispatcher 4 (Chief Dispatcher) the Communications Chief that oversees the communication centers operations. When a Level 3 job opens, only a level 2 dispatcher that meets the minimum qualifications may apply. The same applies to Level 4 with the exception that only a Level 3 dispatcher may apply.
Q. What is the pay?
A. Starting salary for a Dispatcher is $26,780.00 annually.
Q. How often are pay raises given?
A. As with all state employees, pay raises are granted by the Georgia General Assembly and are not guaranteed at any interval.
Q. Will I be required to work shifts? Weekends? Holidays?
A. Georgia State Patrol Communications is a 24/7-365 days per year job. As with most law enforcement dispatch, we are open nights, weekends and holidays. Schedules are made at the Communications Center level and staffing levels are set to meet the needs of the department on any given shift. Everyone is usually required to work different shifts.
Q. What is involved in the background process?
The Background Investigator will:
- Contact references
- Contact past and present employers
- Resolve any issues that may surface during the background investigation
- Conduct a background interview with each candidate
- All applicants must submit to a polygraph examination.
The examination will be at Headquarters or Georgia Bureau of Investigation, Atlanta or Field Offices.
Q. How long does the background process take?
A. The background process takes a varying length of time. Background packets are distributed to specially trained background investigators in your area. Depending on many factors, including the number of backgrounds to be completed, the extensiveness of the background, etc. the background could take from a few days to a few weeks.
Q. Why does it take so long to get an interview?
A. The interview is typically the final step in the process. Interviews are only held when a position is actually available. This time period will vary. You will be contacted by Human Resources if chosen to interview for a position.
Q. Is there a training process?
A. Yes, you will be considered on a “Working Test” for your first year with the department. There are many facets to the job. The Chief Communications Officer will oversee your training during this time and see that you are given attention in areas you may be having trouble and need extra help. Most training will be conducted locally and you will not be required to travel away from the communications center.
Q. How can I check the status of my application?
A. Email – email@example.com
Q. When will I be scheduled for the test and who will do that?
A. Upon receipt of the state application, you will receive a call from the Chief Operator at a Troop Communications Center to schedule a test date. The test is administered by the Chief Operator or a Senior Operator.
Q. How will I know if the position has been filled?
A. Email us at firstname.lastname@example.org or call at (404) 624-7553
Q. Who can I contact about questions when completing the Background Packet?
A. You can contact Human Resources via Email at email@example.com
Q. What are the job duties performed by a Dispatcher?
A. Coordinates radio and data communication traffic according to established federal, state and local rules and regulations. Performs duties of sending, receiving, relaying, monitoring, logging, recording, reporting and interpreting emergency and non-emergency information to and from mobile units or computerized data bases. Operates radio and other data transmitting equipment. Performs administrative duties necessary for the operation of the communications center.
Q. What Troops are you hiring for?
A. Each of the nine centers has a designated staffing level. We post all vacancies immediately.
Q. What type of clothing will I be required to wear?
A. Once you have completed your “Working Test”, you will be issued uniform pants and shirts. You will be required to purchase your own black belt, black socks and black shoes to complete your uniform. Prior to this time, you may wear “Business Casual” clothing. This may include khaki pants, button up or golf type shirt, casual shoes, etc. Jeans and collarless shirts are not permitted.
Q. Does the department pay for required uniforms?
A. Uniform pants and shirts will be issued once you have satisfactorily completed your working test. Purchases of a black belt, black socks and black shoes are at the expense of the employee.
Q. Are there different levels established for Dispatchers?
A. There are three levels of Dispatcher:
- Dispatcher 1 - Basic Level Dispatcher
- Dispatcher 2 - 1 year as a Dispatcher
- Dispatcher 3 - Shift Supervisor (Senior)
- Dispatcher 4 - The Chief Communications Officer responsible for overseeing the Communications Center.
Q. Is law enforcement experience required?
A. No law enforcement experience is required.
Q. What benefits will I receive?
A. State employees are also offered access to health insurance, life insurance, vision insurance, dental insurance and many more benefits including a retirement plan. All state employees receive sick leave in the amount of ten hours per month. State employees also receive annual leave in differing amounts based on the number of years employed with the state. Minimum amount is ten hours per month going up to 14 hours per month.