(FORSYTH) – The Georgia State Patrol graduated its 101st Trooper School on Friday, December 29, at the Georgia Public Safety Training Center in Forsyth. After 31 weeks of intense training, 40 new troopers will report to patrol posts throughout the state on Monday, January 29. Governor Nathan Deal was the keynote speaker. Additional remarks were given by Colonel Mark W. McDonough, Commissioner of the Department of Public Safety and Capt. Scott Woodell, Director of Training.  The Oath of Office was issued by Justice Harold Melton of the Georgia Supreme Court.
Trooper Cadets spend 18 weeks at the academy, 12 weeks in field training, and return to the academy for one week of preparation for graduation. The Georgia Peace Officer Standards and Training Council (POST) requires that all peace officers receive a minimum of 400 hours of Basic Mandate Training. At the completion of Trooper School, these newly graduated trooper cadets received over 1,500 hours of training, including driving, defensive tactics, vehicle stops, Spanish, criminal law and criminal procedure, firearms, accident investigation, and various other training.
During remarks to his fellow class members, class president, Tpr. Travis K. Pollock, reflected on the camaraderie developed over the past 31 weeks, and their roles as state troopers and leaders.

Four of the graduates received special honors for top performance in the following areas:
•    Highest Firearms Proficiency – Tpr. Timothy V. Williams
•    Highest Driving Proficiency – Tpr. Jared D. Davis
•    Highest Academic Average – Tpr. Trent A. Kirchhefer
•    Top Gun – Tpr. Scott E. Rigby

This year, Tpr. Trent A. Kirchhefer received an award from Reinhardt University for the highest academic average, 99.23. He received a $1,000 scholarship towards a Bachelor’s degree in Criminal Justice from Reinhardt.
Additionally, the following graduates were recognized for their leadership:  Tpr. Wade F. Oglesby, Vice President; Tpr. Vance W. Henry, Jr., Secretary/Treasurer; Tpr. Randall L. White, Sergeant-At-Arms; Tpr. Jarrad R. Gately, Pennant Bearer; and Tpr. Scott E. Rigby, Chaplain.
Each commissioned trooper will report to his/her post on January 29, 2018. The new graduates are assigned to one of the 52 posts throughout the state.

Nicholas AkersonGainesville, GAPost 27 - Blue Ridge
Emily BeaulieuMarietta, GAPost 49 - Motor Unit
Joseph BrownValdosta, GAPost 31 - Valdosta
Christopher ButlerCarrollton, GAPost 4 - Villa Rica
Ricardo CarrasquilloBrunswick GAPost 23- Brunswick
Jimmy ChrispGrovetown, GAPost 17 - Washington
Andrew ClementDecatur, GAPost 9 - Marietta
Jordan CoxEvans, GAPost 8 - Madison
Michael Cullinan IIIMartinez, GAPost 25 - Grovetown
Jared DavisTemple, GAPost 4 - Villa Rica
Austin EdwardsJesup, GAPost 23 - Brunswick
Tyler FairBrunswick, GAPost 35 - Jekyll Island
Jarrad GatelyDecatur, GAPost 48 - Atlanta
Frank Gay, Jr.Norman Park, GAPost 13 - Tifton
Vashaun GrigsbyGrovetown, GAPost 25 - Grovetown
Vance Henry, Jr.Lavonia, GAPost 7 - Toccoa
Christopher HolbrooksLawrenceville, GAPost 51 - Gwinnett
Todd HughesSavannah, GAPost 32 - Athens
Austyn JacquesCumming, GAPost 37 - Cumming
Trent KirchheferToccoa, GAPost 7 - Toccoa
Sarah KitchensAthens, GAPost 32 - Athens
Jesse LambWaycross, GAPost 52 - Hartwell
Aldo LaraLawrenceville, GAPost 9 - Marietta
Wilner MagloireMacon, GAPost 1 - Griffin
Jeffrey MarreroHahira, GAPost 31 - Valdosta
Elmer MartinMcDonough, GAPost 11 - Hinesville
James MartinMcCaysville, GAPost 27 - Blue Ridge
Jonathan MaxwellSilver Creek, GAPost 29 - Paulding
Wade OglesbyLocust Grove, GAPost 1 - Griffin
Jacob OliverGriffin, GAPost 26 - Thomaston
Travis PollockCordele, GAPost 30 - Cordele
Cory PuckettAragon, GAPost 3 - Cartersville
Scott RigbyTifton, GAPost 36 - Douglas
Emilee ShacklefordRocky Face, GAPost 5 - Dalton
Blake ShiverMacon, GAPost 2 - LaGrange
Jeffrey TurnerEastman, GAPost 16 - Helena
Dustin WelbornRoyston, GAPost 52 - Hartwell
Randall WhiteDahlonega, GAPost 37 - Cumming
Judd WhitfieldRinggold, GAPost 41 - Lafayette
Timothy WilliamsDalton, GAPost 41 - Lafayette