(FORSYTH) – The Georgia State Patrol graduated its 103rd Trooper School on Friday, Sept. 21, at the Georgia Public Safety Training Center in Forsyth. After 32 weeks of intense training, 48 new troopers will report to patrol posts throughout the state on Thursday, November 1. Governor Nathan Deal was the keynote speaker and encouraged the new troopers to always put safety first not just for the motoring public, but especially for themselves as they patrol Georgia’s roadways. Additional remarks were given by Colonel Mark W. McDonough, Commissioner of the Department of Public Safety and Capt. Scott Woodell, Director of Training. Colonel McDonough presented Governor Deal with an Honorary Trooper certificate for his dedication and support of the department during his tenure as governor. The Oath of Office was issued by Judge Brian Rickman of the Georgia Court of Appeals.
Trooper Cadets spend 20 weeks at the academy and 12 weeks in field training. The Georgia Peace Officer Standards and Training Council (POST) requires that all peace officers receive a minimum of 400 hours of Basic Mandate Training. At the completion of Trooper School, these newly graduated trooper cadets received over 1,500 hours of training, including driving, defensive tactics, vehicle stops, Spanish, criminal law and criminal procedure, firearms, accident investigation, and various other training.
During remarks to his fellow class members, class president, Tpr. Tedarrius N. Teasley, reminded them that they were the seeds of the Georgia State Patrol who were planted, watered with training, and will rise to every situation. “No seed grows on its own,” he stated.
Two of the graduates received special honors for top performance in various fields of study, with one receiving three of the four awards. The honorees were:

  • Firearms Proficiency – Tpr. Ethan W. Smith (Score: 296.8 out of 300)
  • Driving Proficiency – Tpr. Keldon C. McCrary
  • Highest Academic Average – Tpr. Keldon C. McCrary (Score: 98.55 out of 100)
  • Top Gun – Tpr. Keldon C. McCrary

Tpr. McCrary also received a $1,000 scholarship towards a bachelor’s degree in Criminal Justice from Reinhardt University for having the highest academic average in his class.
Additionally, the following graduates were recognized for their leadership: Tpr. Kevin M. Kirby, Secretary/Treasurer; Tpr. Nicholas T. Collins, Pennant Bearer; Tpr. Aaron W. Morton, Chaplain; and Tpr. Hunter M. Waters, Jr., Sergeant-At-Arms.
Each commissioned trooper will report to his post on November 1, 2018. The new graduates are assigned to one of the 52 posts throughout the state.




Christopher Ashdown

Long County

Post 11 – Hinesville

Brent Barnes

Lowndes County

Post 31 – Valdosta

Joshua Bartlett

Columbia County

Post 25 – Grovetown

Donald Beardsley

Columbia County

Post 17 - Washington

Joshua Benfield

Monroe County

Post 45 – Statesboro

Nathaniel Brannen

Madison County

Post 32 – Athens

Jazzaman Burgess

Peach County

Post 15 – Perry

James Burnett

White County

Post 37 – Cumming

Joshua Callaghan

Berrien County

Post 36 – Douglas

Cody Cantrell

Whitfield County

Post 5 – Dalton

Carl Clayton

Forsyth County

Post 49 – Motor Unit

Travis Cole, Sr.

Gwinnett County

Post 48 – Atlanta

Nicholas Collins

Stewart County

Post 39 – Cuthbert

John Coulter

Lowndes County

Post 13 – Tifton

Jamill Curry

Worth County

Post 12 – Thomasville

Riccardo Dawson

Fulton County

Post 49 – Motor Unit

Tyler Edgar

Colquitt County

Post 12 – Thomasville

Brian Edwards

Duval County, FL

Post 23 – Brunswick

Antonio Gonzalez

Fulton County

Post 47 – Forest Park

Austin Greer

Habersham County

Post 6 – Gainesville

Harrison Grimes

Muscogee County

Post 2 – LaGrange

Robert Holton, Jr.

Lumpkin County

Post 37 – Cumming

Justin Howerton

Gordon County

Post 38 – Rome

Keun Jang

Gwinnett County

Post 49 – Motor Unit

Nicholas Johnson, Sr.

Thomas County

Post 12 – Thomasville

Dennis King, Jr.

Wilkes County

Post 8 – Madison

Kevin Kirby

Baldwin County

Post 33 – Milledgeville

Gavin Lee

Tift County

Post 13 – Tifton

William London

White County

Post 37- Cumming

William Marsh, Jr.

DeKalb County

Post 48 – Atlanta

Keldon McCrary

Long County

Post 11 – Hinesville

Chase Middleton

Pierce County

Post 35 – Jekyll Island

Jason Moore

Bartow County

Post 3 – Cartersville

Aaron Morton

Houston County

Post 30 – Cordele

Christopher Otis

Gwinnett County

Post 48 – Atlanta

Emilio Pedroza

Columbia County

Post 49 – Motor Unit

Chase Redner

Forsyth County

Post 37 – Cumming

Murray Ricketson

Bibb County

 Post 48 – Atlanta

David Rivera, Jr.

Muscogee County

Post 34 – Manchester

Brian Sanchez

Gwinnett County

Post 37 – Cumming

Francisco Sanchez

Habersham County

Post 6 – Gainesville

Brandon Smith

Dallas County

Post 2 – LaGrange

Ethan Smith

Walton County

Posts 46 – Monroe

Daniel Spell

Wheeler County

Post 16 – Helena

Tedarrius Teasley

Hall County

Post 6 – Gainesville

Demarcus Thomas

Cobb County

Post 9 – Marietta

Hunter Waters

Franklin County

Post 42 – Rincon

Alex Williams

Dale County, AL

Post 14 - Colquitt

A photo of the 103rd Trooper School graduates is attached. Individual trooper photos are available to the media via email request to [email protected]


Contact Information:

DPS Public Information Office - (404) 624-7597