(FORSYTH, GA) – The Georgia State Patrol graduated its 110th Trooper School on Friday, September 17, at the Georgia Public Safety Training Center (GPSTC) in Forsyth.  After 32 weeks of intense training, and a three-week interruption due to a COVID outbreak, 34 new troopers will report to one of the 52 patrol posts throughout the state.

First Lady Marty Kemp was the keynote speaker.  Colonel Chris C. Wright, Commissioner of the Department of Public Safety (DPS), paid tribute to the first responders killed on Sept. 11. Lt. Colonel William W. Hitchens, III, DPS Deputy Commissioner, issued the Oath of Office.  Additionally, remarks were given by Lt. Colonel Stephanie L. Stallings, DPS Director of Support/Administrative Operations, and Capt. Garrett Fiveash, Director of Training

Trooper Cadets spend 20 weeks at the academy and 12 weeks in field training.  The Georgia Peace Officer Standards and Training Council (POST) requires that all peace officers receive a minimum of 408 hours of Basic Mandate TrainingAt the completion of Trooper School, these newly graduated troopers received over 1,400 hours of training, including driving, defensive tactics, vehicle stops, Spanish, criminal law and criminal procedure, firearms, accident investigation, and various other training.

During remarks to his fellow class members, Trooper Scott Curry, class president, reflected on family and how it extends beyond the immediate family to his classmates and the training staff he walked with on this journey towards becoming a Trooper. He expressed how important the friendships that were made helped get each of them through those tough times.

Four of the graduates received special honors for top performance in various proficiencies. The honorees were:

  • Driving Proficiency – Trooper Jamie Allen
  • Firearms Proficiency – Trooper Zachary Goodman
  • Top Gun – Trooper Cameron York
  • Highest Academic Average – Trooper Cameron Reese

Trooper Reese also received a $2,000 scholarship towards a master’s degree from Reinhardt University for having the highest academic average (95.89) in his class. He already received a Bachelor of Science degree in Justice Studies. This scholarship is named after CPL Chadwick LeCroy who was killed in the line of duty on December 27, 2010.  The university also gave a $1,000 scholarship to each trooper towards a bachelor’s degree.

Additionally, the following graduates were recognized for their leadership: Trooper Bradley Gurganus, Vice President; Trooper Katlyn Reid, Secretary; Trooper Vijaya Purugulla, Treasurer; Trooper Derek Long, Chaplain; Trooper Darryll Fulghum, Sergeant-at-Arms; and Trooper Joshua Powell, Pennant Bearer.

Each commissioned trooper will report to the following assigned post:



Jamie Allen

Post 16 – Helena

Jhordann Barker

Post 44 – Forsyth

Edgar Bellorin

Post 51 – Gwinnett

Thomas Bond

Post 42 – Rincon

Scott Curry

Post 17 – Washington

Aaron Deyton

Post 27 – Blue Ridge

Logan Edwards

Post 29 – Paulding

Seth Frady

Post 6 - Gainesville

Andrew Frizzell

Post 15 – Perry

Darryll Fulghum

Post 31 – Valdosta

Zackary Goodman

Post 8 – Madison

Cody E. Gordy

Post 32 – Athens

Bradley J. Gurganus

Post 42 – Rincon

Jorge Hernandez

Post 6 – Gainesville

Evan Johnson

Post 43 – Calhoun

Xavier Johnson

Post 39 – Cuthbert

Kenneth Jones

Post 10 – Americus

David Jones

Post 27 – Blue Ridge

Derek Long

Post 6 – Gainesville

Keith McCarty

Post 45 – Statesboro

Joshua Nelson Post 1 - Griffin
Courdarious Nunn Post 2 - LaGrange
Joshua Powell Post 30 - Cordele
Vijaya Purugulla Post 2 - LaGrange
Cameron Reese Post 45 - Statesboro
Katlyn S. Reid Post 30 - Cordele

John Reinhardt

Post 13 – Tifton

Seth Scriven

Post 21 – Sylvania

Brandon Simerly

Post 14 – Colquitt

Marquez G. Styles

Post 1 – Griffin

Christopher Thompson

Post 36 – Douglas

James Turner, III

Post 45 – Statesboro

Austin Lee Weaver

Post 3 – Cartersville

Cameron York

Post 35 – Jekyll Island

Group photo attached.


DPS Public Information Office

(404) 624-7597