(FORSYTH, GA) – The Georgia State Patrol graduated its 111th Trooper School on Friday, April 29, at the Georgia Public Safety Training Center (GPSTC) in Forsyth.  After 32 weeks of intense training, 41 new troopers will report to one of the 52 patrol posts throughout the state.
Governor Brian Kemp was the keynote speaker, and issued the Oath of Office.  Additionally, remarks were given by Colonel Chris C. Wright, Commissioner of the Department of Public Safety (DPS), and Captain Clayton Kicklighter, Director of Training. 
Trooper Cadets spend 20 weeks at the academy and 12 weeks in field training.  The Georgia Peace Officer Standards and Training Council (POST) requires that all peace officers receive a minimum of 408 hours of Basic Mandate Training.  At the completion of Trooper School, these newly graduated troopers received over 1,400 hours of training, including driving, defensive tactics, vehicle stops, Spanish, criminal law and criminal procedure, firearms, accident investigation, and various other training.
During remarks to his fellow class members, Trooper Matthew Bellflower, class president, reflected on their journey through Trooper School. "We earned this, this was not given to us," Bellflower stated.  "I challenge each of you to develop your individual professionalism that coincides with the professionalism of the Georgia State Patrol." 

Trooper Townsend also received a $5,000 scholarship towards a Master's degree from Reinhardt University for having the highest academic average, 95.55,  in his class. This scholarship is named after CPL Chadwick LeCroy who was killed in the line of duty on December 27, 2010.  

Four of the graduates received special honors for top performance in various proficiencies. The honorees were: 

  • Driving Proficiency – Trooper Cameron Fernandez
  • Firearms Proficiency – Trooper Dylan Smith
  • Top Gun – Trooper Christopher Cronsell
  • Highest Academic Average – Trooper Ryan Townsend

Additionally, the following graduates were recognized for their leadership: Trooper Joseph Elsberry, Vice President; Trooper Ryan Townsend, Secretary; Trooper Joseph Song, Chaplain; Trooper Cedric Riche, Sergeant-at-Arms; and Trooper Devin Story, Pennant Bearer.

Each commissioned trooper will report to the following assigned post: 


Bryce Baker

Post 24-Newnan

Matthew Bellflower

Post 19-Swainsboro

Donald Bonner

Post 16-Helena 

Benjamin Brewer

Post 21-Sylvania

Cameron Cain

Post 31-Valdosta

Greta Cherry

Post 6-Gainesville

Joshua Cockrell

Post 33-Milledgeville

Morgan Crean

Post 35-Jekyll Island

Christopher Cronsell

Post 18-Reidsville

Tyler Crowe

Post 17-Washington

Kyle Duke

Post 13-Tifton

Dustin Edwards

Post 3-Cartersville

Joseph Elsberry

Post 5-Dalton

Cameron Fernandez

Post 47-Forest Park

Matthew Gilbert

Post 2-LaGrange

Edith Gonzalez

Post 35-Jekyll Island

Nicholas Guerra

Post 9-Marietta

Michael Haggard

Post 3-Cartersville

Justin Harp

Post 29-Paulding

Dallas Harper

Post 11-Hinesville

Benjamin Heideman

Post 8-Madison

Hunter Humphries

Post 40-Albany

Justin Lewis

Post 30-Cordele

William Mefford

Post 43-Calhoun

Camron Neely

Post 3-Cartersville

Connor Outlaw

Post 20-Dublin

Andrew J. Peeples

Post 32-Athens

Andrew T. Peeples

Post 40-Albany

Cedric Riche

Post 48-Atlanta

Dylan Smith 

Post 14-Colquitt

Joseph Song

Post 51-Gwinnett

Jackie Stephens

Post 5-Dalton

Devin Story

Post 5-Dalton

Joseph Sutton

Post 26-Thomaston

Ryan Townsend

Post 43-Calhoun

Matthew Vandiver

Post 52-Hartwell

Tyler Vining

Post 25-Grovetown

Matthew Ward

Post 2-LaGrange

Jacquez Willis

Post 34-Manchester

Nigel Wilmore

Post 44-Forsyth

Joshua Winter

Post 36-Douglas


Group photo attached. 111th Trooper School



Media Contact:
DPS Public Information Office
(404) 624-7597