For Immediate Release:

March 8, 2024            


(FORSYTH, GA) – The Georgia State Patrol (GSP) graduated its 115th Trooper School Friday, March 8, at the Georgia Public Safety Training Center (GPSTC) in Forsyth. After 32 weeks of intense training, 39 new Troopers will report to one of 52 patrol posts around the state.

Georgia Governor Brian P. Kemp delivered the graduation address and gave the Oath of Office. Additional remarks were provided by Colonel Billy Hitchens, Commissioner of the Georgia Department of Public Safety (DPS), and Captain Craig Singletary, Director of Training.

Trooper Cadets spend 20 weeks at the academy and 12 weeks training in the field. The Georgia Peace Officer Standards and Training Council (POST) requires all peace officers to receive a minimum of 408 hours of Basic Mandate Training. After completing Trooper School, the graduates have received more than 1,400 hours of training including driving, defensive tactics, vehicle stops, Spanish, criminal law and criminal procedure, firearms, accident investigation, and various other training.

During remarks to his fellow class members Trooper Kenneth Williams, class president, reflected on the group’s journey through Trooper School. 

“Those hard and exhausting moments led us to where we are today,” said Williams. “In the words of Kirby Smart, “When you step on that field, it’s not just about you. It’s about your teammates, your coaches, your family, and all those that supported you along the way.” “Remember your why, 115th be proud, be vigilant, and be safe!” Williams added.

In addition to Williams, other class officers include Trooper Joshua Webster, Vice President; Trooper Keith Jones, Secretary and Treasurer; Trooper Garrett Jones, Chaplain; Trooper Isaiah Francois, Sergeant-at-Arms; and Trooper Timothy Pattison, Pennant Bearer.

Four graduates received special honors for top performance in various proficiencies. The honorees were:

  • Driving Proficiency – Trooper Daniel Pendleton
  • Firearms Proficiency – Trooper Austin Scott
  • Top Gun – Trooper Daniel Pendleton
  • Highest Academic Average – Trooper Christian Clark

Trooper Clark who had a 98.15 academic average, received the Cpl. Chadwick LeCroy scholarship to use toward obtaining a degree from Reinhardt University. Cpl. Chadwick LeCroy, a GSP Trooper, was killed in the line of duty on December 27, 2010.

Trooper Zackary Herrington received the second annual Patrick Dupree Leadership Award which is presented to the cadet that showed leadership throughout the entire class, even though he/she was not the class president. Trooper Cadet Dupree passed away Thursday, September 8, 2022, after performing a training exercise along with other members of the 113th Trooper School at the Georgia Public Safety Training Center.

Each commissioned Trooper will report to the following assigned post:      

Trooper’s Name

Home County

Assigned Post

Daniel Pendleton

Berrien County

Post 31 - Valdosta

Christian Clark

Bulloch County

Post 45 - Statesboro

Adam Figueroa

Cherokee County

Post 28 - Jasper

Dwayne Cameron

Cobb County

Post 9 - Marietta

Heidy Terrero

Bulloch County

Post 42 - Rincon

James Jovan

Gwinnett County

Post 51 - Gwinnett

Dakota Metts

Bacon County

Post 23 - Brunswick

Steven Greiner

Columbia County

Post 25 - Grovetown

Rusty Evans

Grady County

Post 14 - Colquitt

Kenneth Williams

Jeff Davis County

Post 16 - Hazelhurst

Richard Bath

Floyd County

Post 3 - Cartersville

Austin Scott

Paulding County

Post 29 - Paulding

Joshua Webster

Bartow County

Post 3 - Cartersville

Marquavious Jackson

Oglethorpe County

Post 6 - Gainesville

Jonathan Negron

Cobb County

Post 49 - Motor Unit

Garrett Jones

Colquitt County

Post 12 - Thomasville

Marco Zamora-Avalos

Lenoir County

Post 30 - Cordele

Daniel Ivey

Telfair County

Post 16 - Hazelhurst

Isaiah Wilkins

Gordon County

Post 23 - Brunswick

Zackary Herrington

Coffee County

Post 36 - Douglas

David Hunter

Harris County

Post 2 - Lagrange

Gage Pace

Fulton County

Post 5 - Dalton

Nekoda Farinha

Bryan County

Post 42 - Rincon

Douglas Brown

Pike County

Post 1 - Griffin

Jonathan Concepcion

Effingham County

Post 42 - Rincon

Timothy Pattison

Cherokee County

Post 3 - Cartersville

Darren Wiggins

Bartow County

Post 3 - Cartersville

Matthew Wannamaker

Fulton County

Post 42 - Rincon

Cannon Hicks

Douglas County

Post 4 - Villa Rica

Eric Jackson

Fulton County

Post 47 - Forest Park

Isaiah Francois

Bulloch County

Post 45 - Statesboro

Keith Jones

Montgomery County

Post 48 - Atlanta

Brandon Brown

Washington County

Post 33 - Milledgeville

James Teston

Bleckley County

Post 20 - Dublin

Garrett Glover

Lee County

Post 39 - Cuthbert

Wendel White

Houston County

Post 15 - Perry

Cody Rollins

Pickens County

Post 28 - Jasper

Davied Robertson

Walton County

Post 46 - Monroe

Austin Fitzhugh

Fulton County

Post 48 - Atlanta


DPS Public Information Office

(404) 624-7597