Seven Motor Carrier Compliance Division Officers Graduate from Tenth Motor Carrier School

For Immediate Release:


(FORSYTH, GA) – The Georgia Department of Public Safety's Motor Carrier Compliance Division (MCCD) held graduation ceremonies for its tenth Motor Carrier Officer (MCO) School on Friday, April 26, at the Georgia Public Safety Training Center (GPSTC) in Forsyth. 

Colonel William Hitchens, III, Commissioner of the Department of Public Safety (DPS), delivered the graduation address. Lt. Colonel Josh Lamb, DPS Assistant Commissioner, gave the oath of office.

In an address to his fellow classmates, Officer Michael Chapman, class president, emphasized "Our training was both extensive and intensive. We were tested mentally and physically. Although we knew that freedom was just beyond the training center gates, our "why" was the reason we endured. God made each of us with different abilities. Each of us as different strengths and weaknesses. We drew from each other's strengths while we helped fortify each other's weaknesses. We learned the power of encouragement. We learned that each of us has his own battles and his own fears that must be faced. We knew that we could accomplish more than we imagined. As the weeks continued, we drew closer together as a unit, as a team, as one."

Four graduates received special honors for top performance in various proficiencies. The honorees were: 

  • Driving Proficiency – Officer Robert Martin
  • Firearms Proficiency – Officer Ethan York
  • Top Gun – Officer Ethan York
  • Highest Academic Average – Officer Jelani Anthony 

For having the highest academic average, a 90.13, Officer Anthony received a $500 scholarship toward a bachelor's degree in Criminal Justice from Reinhardt University.

In addition to class president, Officer Chapman served as sergeant-at-arms. The following graduates were recognized for their leadership: Officer James Samuel, vice president; Officer Framir Salazar, secretary/treasurer; and Officer Jacob Prater, pennant bearer.

After 24 weeks of intense training, these seven officers will report to one of 10 Regions around the state.

Officers and Assignments


Home County

Assigned Region

MCO Jelani Anthony 

Douglas County

Region C, Station 7

MCO Michael Chapman

Jones County

Region E, Station 9

MCO Robert Martin

Franklin County

Region B, Station 4

MCO Jacob Prater

Coweta County

Region D, Station 11

MCO Frankmir Salazar

Cobb County

Region C, Station 7

MCO James Samuel

Liberty County

Region I, Station 21

MCO Ethan York

Walker County

Region 1, Station 2


Class photo attached.


DPS Public Information Office

(404) 624-7597