For Immediate Release:

April 26, 2024

(FORSYTH, GA) – The Georgia Department of Public Safety's Motor Carrier Compliance Division (MCCD) held graduation ceremonies for its eleventh Motor Carrier Officer (MCO) School on Friday, April 26, at the Georgia Public Safety Training Center (GPSTC) in Forsyth. 

Colonel William Hitchens, III, Commissioner of the Department of Public Safety (DPS), delivered the graduation address. Georgia DPS Assistant Commissioner Lt. Colonel Josh Lamb gave the oath of office.

In an address to his fellow classmates, Officer Michael Chapman, class president, "Our training was both extensive and intensive. We were tested mentally and physically. Although we knew that freedom was just beyond the training center gates, our "why" was the reason we endured, Chapman said. "God made each of us with different abilities. Each of us has different strengths and weaknesses. We drew from each other's strengths while we helped fortify each other's weaknesses. We learned the power of encouragement. We learned that each of us has his own battles and his own fears that must be faced. We knew that we could accomplish more than we imagined.

As the weeks continued, we drew closer together as a unit, as a team, as one."

Four graduates received special honors for top performance in various proficiencies. The honorees were: 

  • Driving Proficiency - Officer Robert Martin
  • Firearms Proficiency - Officer Ethan York
  • Top Gun - Officer Ethan York
  • Highest Academic Average - Jelani Anthony 

For having the highest academic average, an 90.13, Officer Anthony received a $500 scholarship toward a bachelor's degree in Criminal Justice from Reinhardt University.

In addition to class president, Chapman was also sergeant-at-arms; the following graduates were recognized for their leadership: Officer James Samuel, vice president; Officer Framir Salazar, secretary/treasurer; Officer Jakon Prater, pennant bearer.

After 24 weeks of intense training, these 7 officers will report to one of 10 Regions around the state.


Officers and Assignments:






MCO Jelani Anthony 

Douglas County

Region C, Station 7


MCO Michael Chapman

Jones County

Region E, Station 9


MCO Robert Martin

Franklin County

Region B, Station 4


MCO Jakon Prater

Coweta County

Region D, Station 11


MCO Riunte Demmons

Laurens County,

Region F, Station 15


MCO Frankmir Salazar

Cobb County

Region C, Station 7


MCO James Samuel

Liberty County

Region I, Station 21



DPS Public Information Office

(404) 624-7597