GTF Overview

Domestic Marijuana Intelligence Overview

The Governor's Task Force/Drug Suppression (GTF) is assigned to the Office of the Deputy Commissioner of the Department of Public Safety and supervised by a task force commander from the Georgia State Patrol. GTF is comprised of six state agencies and two federal agencies. Each agency provides resources specific to their enforcement mission (i.e. aircraft, intelligence, logistical and administrative support, equipment, and personnel trained and experienced in operating in a variety of environments found within the state).

The task force is funded by the Drug Enforcement Administration (DEA) Domestic Cannabis Eradication/Suppression Program (DCE/SP). These federal funds are asset forfeiture funds and are administered by the Georgia Department of Public Safety. The primary role of the task force is to eradicate domestic marijuana within the State of Georgia and to gather intelligence relating to its manufacture and cultivation.

Agencies comprising the task Force are: The Georgia State Patrol, Motor Carrier Compliance, Department of Natural Resources Law Enforcement Division, Department of Corrections - Probation Division, State Board of Pardons and Paroles, Georgia Army National Guard Counter Drug, Drug Enforcement Administration, and the Civil Air Patrol.