About the Georgia State Patrol

Although focused primarily on the enforcement of traffic laws and investigation of traffic crashes, the Georgia State Patrol (GSP) supports the efforts of all public safety agencies to reduce criminal activity, apprehend those involved, and respond to natural and manmade disasters. Public safety is a 24-hour responsibility.  Stranded motorists and motor vehicle crashes require that troopers work around the clock.

The Georgia State Patrol is divided into 52 patrol posts within nine geographic troops and six specialized units, including Criminal Interdiction, Implied Consent, Motorcycle Unit, Crime Suppression Unit, Specialized Collision Reconstruction Team (SCRT), Specialized Weapons and Tactics (SWAT), GSP Dive Team, Governor’s Task Force, and the Regional K-9 Task Force. Each troop consists of a communications center.