Important Updates Regarding COVID-19/Shelter in Place Order
A statewide shelter in place order has been issued effective Fri., Apr. 3, at 6 p.m. to Thurs., Apr. 30, at 11:59 p.m. This order affects all Georgia residents and visitors. Review the following: COVID-19 Updates
High Occupancy Vehicle (HOV) Lanes
The Department of Public Safety is responsible for enforcing HOV lane restrictions under Georgia Code, Section 40-16-2. Other law enforcement agencies also enforce the HOV restrictions.
HOV Lanes first opened in Atlanta on December 14, 1994, 18 lane miles on I-20 from Downtown to I-285.
In 1996, 60 additional lane miles opened on I-75 and I-85. Another 23.6 lane miles opened on I-85 in Gwinnett County on October 31,2001.
The following vehicles may use HOV Lanes:
- Vehicles with two or more (living and not pre-infant) persons.
- Emergency Vehicles (Law Enforcement, Fire, Emergency Medical)
- Alternative Fuel vehicles properly licensed with an AF license plate.
Persons who violate the HOV lane law are guilty of a misdemeanor, punishable under Code Section 40-6-54.
Fines and penalties for HOV violations:
- First Offense: $75.00 maximum (plus court fees)
- Second Offense: $100.00 maximum (plus court fees)
- Third Offense: $150.00 maximum (plus court fees)
- Fourth Offense: $150.00 maximum (plus court fees), and one point on the driver's record.
Left-side entrance and exit ramps to or from the HOV Lanes are also included in the restrictions.